Favorite Punk music

harshfire 07-12-2004 09:41 PM
What do you like as punk? I like Linkin Park and Simple Plan. THey have good music and it's fun to listen to.
dominusofdeath 07-12-2004 09:42 PM
I like REAL punk as in The Dead Kennedys, The Rammones, The Clash, and Rancid. Oh I also like Ska music.
Travis Bickle 07-12-2004 10:27 PM
Dirt Bike Annie is a punk band from Texas that I've been listening to for a few years now. It's 4 guys and one cute (but married) asian girl (on the guitar), and they've had several albums out for a while on a couple of indie labels, one of them being the semi-well known Dirtnap Records. Some people (like mc chris, who roomed with one of the guitarists at NYU) call them pop-punk. but I'll let you decide that for yourselves. Here are some legal download links to a couple of their songs:

Not An Eagle Scout
50th and Bay
Battlelines
Do Whatcha Wanna
Two Ton Wait

They're playing in the city sometime this summer, and then recording another album.

Besides DBA, I also listen to Ramones, OLD Rancid (the new stuff sounds like crap), and a sh**load of other punk bands.

quote:
What do you like as punk? I like Linkin Park and Simple Plan. THey have good music and it's fun to listen to.

How can you call Linkin Park punk? They're anything but punk. They're more like a boy band with guitars who pretend to be depressed all the time. An A Simple Plan? They're more popish than anything. As with Linkin Park, they appeal to what my mom calls the "tweens", which are basically 13, 14, and 15 year olds. However, you're entitled to your own opinion (as I am to mine).
LANIMILBUS 07-12-2004 11:08 PM
I highly enjoy the music of FLOGGING MOLLY.

The Dead Kennedy's are quite good, also.

And if Weezer is punk (which some people say they are), then they deserve to be in this list too, because they are amazing. And their 5th album is going to be superb (Rivers says he's moved away from writing heavy metal and such).