Swords!

re-animate 04-23-2007 10:00 PM
Ive been doing kendo/sword fighting for a few years now. My choice weapon is a Great Katana/Dai-Katana/No-Dachi.

Just curious if anyone here is into swordfighting for real.

My crown weapon i own is a fully battle ready Great Odachi. 72" long with a 50.5 inch blade and 21" handle. Its full tang and was forged with military grade high carbon steel useing the tsukurikomi method. Ive done a handful of displays in it, but i have yet to own a full set of traditional Samurai armor. It is a real mans weapon!

Anyways, i also preform decently with katana's, kukiri, crecent blades, and fencing swords.

I did teach a class for a small time on the use of a No-Dachi, but not many are too interested in weilding such a huge and encumbersome weapon.

Here is a picture of a very similar No-Dachi. Ill have to get a picture of mine as soon as i get my camera working.

And again i cant upload an image, so here is a link!
Ace of Spades 04-24-2007 12:49 AM
I'm doing Iiado right now.
Inigo Montoya 04-24-2007 01:47 AM
I tried kendo for a spot, didn't have a particular interest in it. However, several of the arts martial have. I still pursue Tai Chi, learning the fluid motions of the different sword katas that use the Chinese jian. I also study much of Western swordsmanship and swordplay, as well as focusing on other weapons. You know, a horseman's mace isn't actually as easy to master as "Ugg. Smash. UGGHH."

I quite enjoy, however, studying different forms of unarmed martial arts. Not grappling, but strikes and impacts. Hopefully when my leg is completely better I can get back into them all.

Until then, I can continue to learn how to use various weapons of different ethnicities and histories.
re-animate 04-24-2007 06:35 AM
Thats really cool DM.

Personally, since i was little, ive had a facination with blades. Especailly big ones.