Saxophone

dtk91 04-10-2005 09:11 PM
Saxophone players come here! I'm just wandering who else here plays saxaphone... I play Bari and Alto and am first chair in my band Big Grin . Feel free to share any tips about taking care of your saxophone or whatever... i just found some thing out today. to get rid of the warping on the tip of your reed, you can soak it in water for about 2 minutes. this helps bigtime!!! I also been wandering if you can soak your reeds in flavored water to make it taste good... Has anyone tried this? Does it Work?
Travis Bickle 04-10-2005 09:33 PM
ME!

I've been playing alto for more than 9 years now. I have a sweet Yamaha alto and a somewhat custom made alto from some lesser known German company. I also have a tenor and a baritone that I got off of ebay for an uber cheap price, but I don't really pay much attention to them. I was in the Jazz band in high school for four years (I scored Tank! and several other songs for them as well), a Jazz band with a few of my friends outside of school, and the regular school band since about 4th grade. I pretty much taught myself, but I took lessons after a while to become more advanced. I also once sat in for a local ska band for a few weeks, but I hate ska, so that didn't go to well.

I only use Meyer mouthpieces because of the great jazz sound/feel it has. Everything else I've experienced is crap

Yeah, the reed soaking thing works to an extent. Depends what kind of reeds you use. I use Rico Royals (the blue box, for those of you that don't know), which are more expensive but have a better sound.

Never pour any sort of liquid down your sax.

Clean your mouthpiece out in a sink. It works for me. If not, then, disgustingly, all your saliva and what not starts to crust and harden and form at the inside of your mouthpiece, screwing with the sound.

Always polish it or else the fingerprints kind of screw with the metal after a while and it loses its luster more quickly.